As a unique, independent academy, Pinkerton Academy's mission is to strive to ensure the growth of all students in a challenging, respectful, and collaborative environment. The Academy fosters a student-centered community with purposefully designed, interactive and relevant learning opportunities.

Welcome to the Freshman Academy!

Please continue to check back as we are in the process of updating all links and information for the 2017-2018 school year! 

 Click to open the Freshman Parent Survival Guide! **New Guide Coming Soon!**

**Parents, please note:  There is NO supply list.  As they are now in high school, students are encouraged to figure out how they want to keep themselves organized.  For the first day of school they will probably only need a notebook and pens/pencils.  If teachers have any requests for supplies, the students will find this out on the first day of school.  

Freshman Resources Page

Freshman Seminar Page

Freshman Academy Administration

 Teams Apollo & Orion  Teams Gemini & Mercury

Suzanne-T

Kimberly Larkin

Associate Dean of Student Life - Suzanne Trice
strice@pinkertonacademy.org  - Ext 1174

Associate Dean of Student Life - Kim Larkin
klarkin@pinkertonacademy.org  - Ext 5102

Administrative Assistant - Kaitie Barry
kbarry@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1174

Administrative Assistant - Carolyn Coraccio
ccoraccio@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 5102

Class of 2021 Class Advisors

NIacuzio   BMcGarty

Nichole Iacuzio & Beth McGarty
niacuzio@pinkertonacademy.org
emcgarty@pinkertonacademy.org

Freshman School Counselors

coming soon

Clare Smith (Mercury, Assistant Director) - csmith@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1212

John Chappell (Gemini) - jchappell@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1121

Chantel Vaillancourt (Apollo) cvaillancourt@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1130

Geeta Prabhakar (Orion) - gprabhakar@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1125

TBA (PASSES) - ____________@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1123

History, Mission & Vision

The Freshman Academy within Pinkerton Academy is a model of transition for incoming 9th Grade students. Proven by statistics and experience, a successful start to Freshman year sets up a successful high school career.

Pinkerton Academy introduced the Freshman Academy in 2011 with the opening of The Academy Building, in which Freshman students spend 75% of their school day. In planning the Freshman Academy, administrators recognized the challenge of moving from middle school to high school, and especially transitioning into a large school such as Pinkerton. With that in mind, Pinkerton administration developed a model for Freshman success:

  • Freshman Team Teaching of core academics (teams Apollo, Gemini, Mercury, and Orion)
  • Students are assigned to a team
  • Core academics are taught in The Academy Building
  • Limited electives are located in adjacent campus facilities
  • Freshman Attendance Office
  • Freshman School Counselors Office
  • Freshman Cafeteria
  • Freshman Seminar
  • Academy Mentor Program
  • Freshman events including Freshman Field Day, Freshman Orientation, and Freshman Reception

Pinkerton wants everyone to succeed -- and we start as early as possible by addressing the important Freshman year. Let the Freshman Academy administration, staff, teachers, and student mentors know how they can help you!