As a unique, independent academy, Pinkerton Academy's mission is to strive to ensure the growth of all students in a challenging, respectful, and collaborative environment. The Academy fosters a student-centered community with purposefully designed, interactive and relevant learning opportunities.

Welcome to the Freshman Academy!

Click to open the Freshman Parent Survival Guide!

**Parents, please note:  There is NO supply list.  As they are now in high school, students are encouraged to figure out how they want to keep themselves organized.  For the first day of school they will probably only need a notebook and pens/pencils.  If teachers have any requests for supplies, the students will find this out on the first day of school.  

Freshman Academy Administration

 Teams Apollo & Orion  Teams Gemini & Mercury

Suzanne-T

Associate Dean - Suzanne Trice
strice@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1174

Kimberly Larkin

Associate Dean - Kim Larkin
klarkin@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 5102

Administrative Assistant - Kaitie Barry
kbarry@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1174

Administrative Assistant - Carolyn Coraccio
ccoraccio@pinkertonacademy.org
 - ext. 5102 

Class of 2020 Class Advisors

Canney   Lemire

Nicole Canney & Rob Lemire
ncanney@pinkertonacademy.org
rlemire@pinkertonacademy.org

Freshman School Counselors

FreshCounselors

Clare Smith (Mercury, Assistant Director) - csmith@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1212

John Chappell (Gemini) - jchappell@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1121

Kaitlin Burkhardt (Orion) - kburke@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1131

Geeta Prabhakar (Apollo) - gprabhakar@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1125

Jen Hamilton (PASSES) - jhamilton@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1123

Jennifer Conte (PASSES) - jconte@pinkertonacademy.org - ext. 1155

History, Mission & Vision

The Freshman Academy within Pinkerton Academy is a model of transition for incoming 9th Grade students. Proven by statistics and experience, a successful start to Freshman year sets up a successful high school career.

Pinkerton Academy introduced the Freshman Academy in 2011 with the opening of The Academy Building, in which Freshman students spend 75% of their school day. In planning the Freshman Academy, administrators recognized the challenge of moving from middle school to high school, and especially transitioning into a large school such as Pinkerton. With that in mind, Pinkerton administration developed a model for Freshman success:

  • Freshman Team Teaching of core academics (teams Apollo, Gemini, Mercury, and Orion)
  • Students are assigned to a team
  • Core academics are taught in The Academy Building
  • Limited electives are located in adjacent campus facilities
  • Freshman Attendance Office
  • Freshman School Counselors Office
  • Freshman Cafeteria
  • Freshman Seminar
  • Academy Mentor Program
  • Freshman events including Freshman Field Day, Freshman Orientation, and Freshman Reception

Pinkerton wants everyone to succeed -- and we start as early as possible by addressing the important Freshman year. Let the Freshman Academy administration, staff, teachers, and student mentors know how they can help you!