As a unique, independent academy, Pinkerton Academy's mission is to strive to ensure the growth of all students in a challenging, respectful, and collaborative environment. The Academy fosters a student-centered community with purposefully designed, interactive and relevant learning opportunities.

Welcome to the Freshman Academy!

Please keep checking back as we are in the process of updating all links and information for the 2017-2018 school year! 

** Parents, please note that there is NO SUPPLY LIST.  As they are now high school students, they are encouraged to figure out how they wish to keep themselves organized.  For the first day of school it is suggested they bring at least a notebook and pens/pencils.  If teachers have any requests for supplies, students will find this out on the first day.**

Click to open the Freshman Parent Survival Guide

 Freshman Resources Page

Freshman Seminar Page


Freshman Academy Administration

Teams Apollo & Orion
Trice

Suzanne Trice - Associate Dean of Student Life
strice@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1174

Administrative Assistant - Kaitie Barry
kbarry@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1174

Teams Gemini & Mercury
Larkin

Kim Larkin - Associate Dean of Student Life
klarkin@pinkertonacademy.org  - Ext 5102

Administrative Assistant - Carolyn Coraccio
ccoraccio@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 5102
 

 

 Class of 2021 Class Advisors

NIacuzio BMcGarty

Nichole Iacuzio & Beth McGarty
niacuzio@pinkertonacademy.org
emcgarty@pinkertonacademy.org

 

Freshman School Counselors

coming soon

Clare Smith (Assistant Director, Team Mercury) - csmith@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1212
Geeta Prabhakar (Team Orion) - gprabhakar@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1125
John Chapell (Team Gemini) - jchappell@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1121
Chantel Vaillancourt (Team Apollo) - cvaillancourt@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1130
Jill Dunham (PASSES & ACT) - jdunham@pinkertonacademy.org - Ext 1123


History, Mission, & Vision of the Freshman Academy

The Freshman Academy within Pinkerton Academy is a model of transition for incoming 9th Grade students. Proven by statistics and experience, a successful start to freshman year sets up a successful high school career.

Pinkerton Academy introduced the Freshman Academy in 2011 with the opening of The Academy Building, in which freshman students spend 75% of their school day. In planning the Freshman Academy, administrators recognized the challenge of moving from middle school to high school, and especially transitioning into a large school such as Pinkerton. With that in mind, Pinkerton administration developed a model for freshman success:

  • Freshman team teaching of core academics (teams Apollo, Gemini, Mercury, and Orion)

  • Students are assigned to a team 

  • Core academics are taught in the Academy Building

  • Limited electives are located in adjacent campus facilities 

  • Freshman Attendance Office

  • Freshman School Counselors Office

  • Freshman Cafeteria 

  • Freshman Seminar

  • Academy Mentor Program

  • Freshman events including Freshman Field Day, Freshman Orientation, and Freshman Reception

Pinkerton wants everyone to succeed - and we start as early as possible by addressing the important Freshman year. Let the Freshman Academy administration, staff, and teachers know how they can help you!