As a unique, independent academy, Pinkerton Academy's mission is to strive to ensure the growth of all students in a challenging, respectful, and collaborative environment. The Academy fosters a student-centered community with purposefully designed, interactive and relevant learning opportunities.

Foreign Languages

  • Home
  • Courses
  • Staff
  • Clubs
  • Travel
  • Tools and Resources
 

Pinkerton Academy students not only learn the mechanics of another language but also explore the cultures, histories and traditions of those who speak it. Working with the faculty, students experience different ways of thinking, living, and communicating. 

Pinkerton offers courses in Chinese, French, German, Spanish, Latin, and American Sign Language.

Pinkerton offers students a variety of study and travel opportunities outside the classroom, including trips to China, France, Canada, Germany, Spain, Costa Rica, Mexico, Greece and Italy. In addition, students are given opportunities for immersion locally through workshops and social events organized by faculty.

 

Read More

“Those who know nothing of foreign languages know nothing of their own.” – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

2016 Foreign Language Department Photo 1

Teacher Name Language Email Address
Alizio, Jon Spanish jalizio@pinkertonacademy.org
Barriere, Jenn Spanish jbarriere@pinkertonacademy.org
Chase, Katherine Spanish/English for Speakers of Other Languages kchase@pinkertonacademy.org
Couture, Guy French gcouture@pinkertonacademy.org
Christensen, Gale American Sign Language Gchristensen@pinkertonacademy.org
Farley, Amy Spanish afarley@pinkertonacademy.org
Frenette, Josee French jfrenette@pinkertonacademy.org
Frank, William (Toby) Spanish wfrank@pinkertonacademy.org
Hastings, Kurt Spanish khastings@pinkertonacademy.org
Hourihane, Stacey French shourihane@pinkertonacademy.org
Hudson, Beth American Sign Language bhudson@pinkertonacademy.org
Mireles, Loly Spanish lmireles@pinkertonacademy.org
Mitchell, Lindsay Spanish lmitchell@pinkertonacademy.org
McCabe, Maureen Department Head/Spanish mmccabe@pinkertonacademy.org
Olkovikas, Mat Latin molkovikas@pinkertonacademy.org
Padian, Carole Spanish cpadian@pinkertonacademy.org
Phelps, Mark Spanish mphelps@pinkertonacademy.org
Rosado, Gerry Spanish grosado@pinkertonacademy.org
Ross, Liz French/Spanish  mross@pinkertonacademy.org
Schlachter, Judell German jschlachter@pinkertonacademy.org
Schmidt, Peter Spanish pschmidt@pinkertonacademy.org
Smith, Vallery Latin vsmith@pinkertonacademy.org
Vaitones, Ed German evaitones@pinkertonacademy.org
Wegner, Jessie Chinese jwegner@pinkertonacademy.org

Read More

The foreign Language Department Sponsors a variety of Clubs and Organizations including:

American Sign Language Club (contact bhudson@pinkertonacademy.org)

Classical Society (contact molkovikas@pinkertonacademy.org )

Foreign Language Honor Society (contact afarley@pinkertonacademy.org )

Elementary Spanish Club (contact lmireles@pinkertonacademy.org)

International Club (contact kchase@pinkertonacademy.org)

 

 

Read More

“Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all of one’s lifetime.” – Mark Twain

Travel opportunities abound for Pinkerton Students including:

2 Week Spanish Exchange Program with Colegio Askartza Claret

2 Week Spanish Language Immersion Program in Costa Rica with INTERCULTURA

Trips to France, Germany, Mexico

Shorter 3 day excursions to Quebec City (French) and New York (Spanish)

Quebec City 2016 Winter WeekendCosta Rica 2016

Spain 2015 Toledo

 

Read More